Stay tapped in with Our Generation Music.

Snoop Dogg drops 25 track compilation album ‘Algorithm’

Snoop Dogg finally shared his highly-anticipated album Algorithm. The 25 song-long compilation features a wide range of Def Jam artists both from the old and new school with Snoop Dogg acting as the host introducing listeners to them all.

Snoop spoke with MTV News about the meaning of the album’s title. In the interview, he said that the music industry uses algorithms to dedicate what’s hot or what’s not right now. What Snoop wanted to do was create his own algorithm based on the feeling and sound of a song and how different sounds could be a part of the same feeling instead of just giving people the same thing they’re familiar with.

The newly appointed Def Jam Executive Creative and Strategic Consultant also dropped one more single and video to promote the project. In the 70’s inspired video, Snoop and Blxst head to a drive-in theater to watch a fictional 70’s blaxploitation film, also starring Snoop. The retro look pairs nicely with the smooth love song and Blxst has his moment to shine with buttery vocals.

While Snoop does take a backseat on the album in favor of shining a light on his guests, he perfectly fits the directorial position. The album smoothly segues between each song and feature verse and each track gives enough variety throughout the runtime. It hits exactly with what Snoop wanted: an algorithm that fits the same feeling but with different sounds.

Listen to ‘Algorithm’ presented by Snoop Dogg below!

Snoop Dogg unveils tracklist for Def Jam compilation album ‘Algorithm’

Snoop Dogg is gearing up for the release of his Def Jam compilation album Algorithm.

The 25-track project features appearances from Def Jam’s extended roster including Method Man, Redman, YK Osiris, Dave East, Fabolous, D Smoke, and tons more.

Snoop is also set to bring on some R&B legends to assist him throughout the album. Stars like Usher and Eric Bellinger appear on “New Oldie” and his soon-to-be Super Bowl halftime show co-star Mary J Blige joins him and DJ Cassidy on “Diamond Life.” With a lineup featuring a mix of the new and the old generations, listeners can expect something that’ll appeal to everyone.

The stacked compilation is one of Snoop’s first moves as Def Jam’s latest Executive Creative and Strategic Consultant and comes shortly after he signed Griselda member Benny the Butcher to the label. Benny appears on the album on the previously released “Murder Music” alongside Jadakiss and Busta Rhymes. Snoop also dropped “Big Subwoofer” featuring West coast royalty Too $hort, E-40, and Ice Cube in preparation for this latest project.

Snoop’s gathered up legends and newcomers alike to cast a wide net on potential listeners. With singles like “Murder Music” and “Big Subwoofer” already released, fans can look forward to more bombastic cuts on Algorithm come Nov. 19.

Listen to “Murder Music” by Snoop Dogg below!

Snoop Dogg’s murderous new posse cut enlists Benny the Butcher, Jadakiss, Busta Rhymes