Stay tapped in with Our Generation Music.

Rae Sremmurd makes long-awaited return with new single ‘Denial’

It has been four years since fans have seen the electric duo of Rae Sremmurd together on the same track.

Although Swae Lee‘s melodic solo career has blossomed with frequent feature verses since the group’s blow-up in the mid-2010s, he and his brother Slim Jxmmi have not shared the same track since their 2018 studio album SR3MM — a triple album split into nine tracks of solo material from each brother and their third joint project.

However, on May 31, Rae Sremmurd appeared to be eyeing a return. With a simple photo of a blazing number “4” and a “SREMM4LIFE” caption, the Mississippi-bred siblings let the world know they were on their way back.

Less than a week later, these rumblings manifested fully into an official release. On Wednesday (June 8) at midnight EST, the duo dropped their brand new pop-rap track “Denial” — a hopeful, melodic cut about trying out a new relationship after having your heart broken.

Swae Lee opens the song with a hook-verse-hook sandwich, where his infectious, “I’ve seen so many fairy tale loves go bad,” chorus sets the stage for optimistic bars attempting to persuade a love interest to give dating another try. As he rhymes about Amiris, Lamborghinis and leaving his “old b*tch” for a new chick, Swae hopes to convince his crush to trust her heart.

On the back half of the track, Slim Jxmmi delivers a verse of the same sentiment, but utilizes his lower tone and more demonstrative rap voice to bring greater versatility to the track — rapping about how tough it is to suppress the love you feel for someone. As the pair both seem to be dealing with a lover in “Denial,” its coinciding visual takes place in the beautiful paradise of Rio de Janeiro, where the duo hit the club and soak up the hot Rio sun.

“Denial” is the lead promotional single for SREMM4LIFE, the upcoming fourth edition of their famed SremmLife album series. Their debut album released in 2015 and included smash hits like “No Flex Zone,” “My X” and “No Type.”

There is no official tracklist or release date for SREMM4LIFE, however, its obsessive and catchy lead single surely won’t leave you in “Denial.”

Check out “Denial” below!