Stay tapped in with Our Generation Music.

YNW Melly’s ‘Just A Matter of Slime’ out now on DSPs

Although YNW Melly is currently awaiting trial in a jail cell, that has not stopped him from continuing his career and dropping new music.

On Aug. 6, he accompanied the release of his new single “Best Friends 4L” featuring Lil Tjay with the announcement of his album Just A Matter of Slime. Now, Melly’s second studio album released from prison is available on all platforms.

The album consists of 12 songs, five of which have already been released. The first single “Thugged Out” with Kodak Black came in March, being the first song Melly had released in over a year.

Three weeks later on March 26, he dropped “Na Na Na Boo Boo” which assumes the outro on the album. The next two singles would not come until July, when he dropped “Pieces” with Queen Naija and “Yung N**** Sh*t” with fellow YNW collective member YNW Gunna and Hotboii.

On Aug. 5, YNW Melly’s Instagram page previewed the music video for his new song with Lil Tjay, dropping the subsequent single the following day. The album contains features from hip-hop heavyweights in Lil Uzi Vert, Lil Baby, Lil Durk, Future, Kevin Gates, Young Thug and more.

Slime’s most recent single “Best Friends 4L” sees Melly slowly and romantically singing the hook that anchors Lil Tjay’s fast-paced, dynamic singular verse — followed by a mellow bridge leading back into the hook. The music video shows visuals of YNW Melly on FaceTime from his cell as Lil Tjay and his crew soak up the summer air at the pool and the beach.

YNW Melly has not released a project since Melly vs. Melvin in November 2019, but the drought has finally ended in Just A Matter Of Slime.