Calvin Harris announces ‘Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 2’

After weeks of sharing scattered clues on social media, Calvin Harris is ready for another round of ‘Funk Wavs’ this summer. The famed DJ took to Twitter Wednesday (April 20) to announce the sequel to his 2017 hit album Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1 — which is widely regarded as one of the best summertime albums in recent years.

The announcement came with a photo of a lone billboard reading “Summer 22.” The original project was played throughout the summer of ’17 and delivered classic singles like the Frank Ocean and Migos collaboration “Slide” or the Future and Khalid hit “Rollin.”

The majority of the project was the perfect soundtrack to long, hot summer nights and made fans hungry for more of this particular sound. However, Harris later stated that he didn’t plan to make a sequel to the tape which devastated fans. Luckily for them, he’s clearly changed his mind and has returned to it five years later.

Since Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1, the producer has remained relatively lowkey. He has not released a new song under his own name since the original LP and instead has been dropping house tracks under his new title Love Regenerator since 2020. However, in the past year, he produced The Weeknd‘s “I Heard You’re Married” off of Dawn FM and is rumored to have been working with Normani on a new single.

Harris is currently set to perform at several summer festivals down the road. With no specific date in mind or a single for Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 2 just yet, fans will still have to wait until they get a chance of what the new project will sound like. Thankfully, summer is right around the corner.

Relive your summertime sessions with some of Calvin Harris’ hits below!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter